△COMPANIESCompanies rated · 435 (no change)△PROJECTSProjects rated · 70 (no change)△CATALOGUE874 grants in catalogue · 19 open right now•POWERED BYOpen Longevity · 501(c)(3) · Sherman Oaks, CA△COMPANIESCompanies rated · 435 (no change)△PROJECTSProjects rated · 70 (no change)△CATALOGUE874 grants in catalogue · 19 open right now•POWERED BYOpen Longevity · 501(c)(3) · Sherman Oaks, CA
0-100 chain-logic scale · 15 dimensions · scored on public evidence
Concepts
Scaffold-plus-stem-cell neurorepair after spinal cord injury
Primary
UC Irvine-associated work proposes that spinal cord injury recovery can be improved by combining an acute multichannel PLG scaffold bridge with later human neural stem cell transplantation. The scaffold is described as mechanically stabilizing the lesion, modulating inflammation, and creating a permissive channelized environment for axonal regrowth; the transplanted neural stem cells then migrate into the bridge and host cord, differentiate into myelinating oligodendrocytes and synaptically integrated neurons, and improve the function of newly regenerated connections.
Testable predictions are that combination treatment should increase regenerating axons, increase myelinated axons within the bridge, support synaptic reconnection between motor cortex and forelimb muscle circuitry, and improve locomotor recovery versus scaffold or cell therapy alone.
publication · Sat Jun 27 2026 08:30:48 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) · Source
Popperian evaluation
Premise plausibility8.0
The biological starting point is credible: spinal cord injury blocks repair through both structural disruption and an inhibitory inflammatory environment, so a scaffold that guides regrowth plus cells that add myelination is a coherent mechanism. The weak point is scale and control. The theory assumes that donor neural stem cells will reliably choose useful fates and wire into host circuitry in a way that improves function, which is plausible in the cited model but still a high bar.
Supporting evidence: PLG scaffold bridge implantation is reported to mechanically stabilize the injury, modulate inflammation, and support axonal regrowth.; Scaffold-only treatment reportedly leaves most regenerated axons unmyelinated, below 10 percent in the cited abstract.; Human neural stem cells are reported to migrate into bridge channels and become myelinating oligodendrocytes and synaptically integrated neurons.
Counter evidence: Stem-cell fate after spinal cord injury is strongly shaped by the inflammatory microenvironment, so the premise depends on timing and local conditions.; The evidence context does not give human clinical data, dose response, lesion-size boundaries, or durability after long follow-up.
Explanatory power8.0
The theory explains the reported pattern well because each observed result maps to a specific part of the mechanism: scaffold for guided axon entry, stem cells for myelination and integration, and the combination for locomotor gain. Alternative explanations remain possible, especially general trophic support, inflammation reduction, or rehabilitation-like plasticity rather than true reconstruction of useful circuits. Still, the motor cortex to forelimb muscle reconnection claim gives the theory more bite than a simple survival or growth-factor story.
Supporting evidence: Combination treatment reportedly increased regenerating axons and myelinated axons within the PLG bridge.; Donor human cells were observed migrating along regenerating axons into the bridge and adjacent host cord.; Axons regenerated through the bridge reportedly formed synaptic circuits connecting contralateral motor cortex with ipsilateral forelimb muscle circuitry.; Combination treatment produced stronger locomotor recovery than scaffold or cell treatment alone.
Counter evidence: The context does not prove that the new synapses caused the behavioral recovery rather than accompanying it.; The theory may understate simpler contributors such as inflammation control, tissue stabilization, trophic signaling, or spared-fiber plasticity.
Falsifiability9.0
This is strongly falsifiable. The theory makes concrete anatomical, cellular, circuit, and behavioral predictions, and several could fail independently. If combination treatment did not increase myelinated axons, if donor cells failed to enter the bridge, if circuit tracing did not connect motor cortex to forelimb muscle pathways, or if locomotor recovery matched single-component arms, the theory would take a direct hit.
Supporting evidence: The theory predicts more regenerating axons in the bridge with combination treatment than with scaffold-only or cell-only treatment.; It predicts more myelinated axons within the bridge.; It predicts synaptic reconnection between contralateral motor cortex and ipsilateral forelimb muscle circuitry.; It predicts better locomotor recovery than either component alone.
Counter evidence: Some terms still need operational thresholds: 'robust improvement' and 'synaptically integrated' should be tied to predefined effect sizes and assays.; A failed behavioral result could be blamed on timing, dose, injury severity, or rehabilitation conditions unless those are locked before testing.
Reasoning tree
premise
Spinal cord injury recovery can be improved by a temporally layered intervention combining acute multichannel PLG scaffold bridge implantation with later human neural stem cell transplantation.
high confidence - 2 linked evidence items
premise
assumes
The injured spinal cord presents physical and chemical barriers that limit axonal regeneration and functional repair.
high confidence - 2 linked evidence items
derivation
implies
An acute multichannel PLG scaffold bridge can mechanically stabilize the lesion, modulate inflammation, and create a permissive channelized environment for cellularization and axonal regrowth.
high confidence - 2 linked evidence items
premise
requires
PLG scaffold bridge treatment alone promotes axonal regrowth but leaves most regenerated axons unmyelinated, limiting functional repair.
high confidence - 2 linked evidence items
derivation
implies
Later transplanted human neural stem cells should migrate into the PLG bridge channels and adjacent host cord along regenerating axons.
high confidence - 2 linked evidence items
derivation
implies
Migrated donor human neural stem cells should integrate into the repaired spinal cord as myelinating oligodendrocytes and synaptically integrated neurons.
high confidence - 2 linked evidence items
derivation
implies
The combined scaffold-plus-stem-cell intervention should improve the function of newly regenerated axonal connections more than either component alone.
high confidence - 2 linked evidence items
prediction
predicts
Combination treatment should increase the total number of regenerating axons within the PLG bridge compared with scaffold-only or cell-only treatment.
high confidence - 2 linked evidence items
observation
observed_in
Combination treatment significantly enhanced regenerating and myelinated axons within the PLG bridge.
high confidence - 2 linked evidence items
prediction
predicts
Combination treatment should increase the number of myelinated axons within the PLG bridge compared with scaffold-only or cell-only treatment.
high confidence - 2 linked evidence items
prediction
predicts
Regenerated axons in the combination-treatment condition should form synaptic circuits reconnecting contralateral motor cortex with ipsilateral forelimb muscle circuitry.
high confidence - 2 linked evidence items
observation
observed_in
Axons regenerated through the PLG bridge formed synaptic circuits connecting ipsilateral forelimb muscle to contralateral motor cortex.
high confidence - 2 linked evidence items
prediction
predicts
Combination treatment should improve locomotor recovery more robustly than scaffold implantation or neural stem cell transplantation alone.
high confidence - 2 linked evidence items
observation
observed_in
Combination treatment produced robust improvement in locomotor recovery after spinal cord injury.
high confidence - 2 linked evidence items
project_implication
implies
A spinal cord injury neurorepair program should test scaffold timing, stem-cell timing, and combined treatment arms rather than evaluating scaffold or cell therapy only in isolation.
medium confidence - 1 linked evidence item
assumption
assumes
Functional recovery depends not only on axon regrowth but also on myelination and synaptic integration of regenerated connections.
high confidence - 2 linked evidence items
observation
observed_in
In vivo experiments observed donor human cells becoming myelinating oligodendrocytes and synaptically integrated neurons.
high confidence - 2 linked evidence items
observation
observed_in
In vivo experiments observed donor human cells migrating into PLG bridge channels along regenerating axons and integrating into host spinal cord.
high confidence - 2 linked evidence items
premise
assumes
Human neural stem cells can myelinate axons after spinal cord injury, but their fate and repair effect are constrained by the inflammatory injury microenvironment.
high confidence - 2 linked evidence items
derivation
implies
Culturing or placing human neural stem cells in the context of a PLG scaffold favors oligodendroglial lineage selection under inflammatory challenge.
medium confidence - 1 linked evidence item
Public endorsements
silent
The public records here tie Aileen Anderson to neural stem cell work in spinal cord injury, including a talk framed as a strong preclinical case for HuCNS-SC cells and videos on stem-cell-treated mice. They do not show her publicly endorsing, describing, or disputing the specific scaffold-plus-stem-cell theory, especially the PLG scaffold bridge component and the staged combination claim.
The evidence only shows Andrea Gunn Eaton in legal and campus counsel roles at UC Irvine. It does not contain any public statement from her about the scaffold-plus-stem-cell spinal cord injury theory, either in support of it or against it.
silent
The record set ties Bernadette Boden-Albala to UC Irvine public health work, including Alzheimer's community care, MPH program leadership, flu-season commentary, and the SERVE OC cardiovascular health trial. None of the provided evidence mentions spinal cord injury, PLG scaffolds, neural stem cell transplantation, axonal regrowth, or this neurorepair theory. On this dossier, she stays silent.
silent
The evidence here ties Frank LaFerla to Alzheimer's disease research at UC Irvine, including a 2017 grant-related news record and a 2014 Alzheimer's mouse-model publication. None of the supplied material mentions spinal cord injury, PLG scaffolds, neural stem cell transplantation, or the scaffold-plus-stem-cell neurorepair theory. On this record, he is publicly silent on that theory.
silent
No public evidence is provided here. The dossier contains no quotes, records, or publications tying Gillian Hayes to this spinal cord injury theory, so the defensible label is silence rather than endorsement, mention, or contradiction.
Electroacupuncture for post-surgical symptom burden
The project states that electroacupuncture is being evaluated as a way to manage pain, nausea/vomiting, diarrhea, and insomnia after cytoreductive surgery and hyperthermic intraperitoneal chemotherapy. The mechanism is not specified in the supplied material beyond symptom modulation and possible biomarker effects, so the extracted theory is that electroacupuncture may causally reduce treatment-related symptom burden and produce detectable blood-biomarker changes.
Testable predictions are feasibility and acceptance by patients, lack of safety signals, improved symptom measures, and measurable changes in blood biomarkers after the intervention.
manual entry · Sat Jun 27 2026 08:30:48 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time)
Popperian evaluation
Premise plausibility5.0
The premise is biologically plausible at the symptom level: pain, nausea, diarrhea, and insomnia after cytoreductive surgery plus HIPEC are real targets for supportive care, and electroacupuncture could affect perceived symptom burden through neuromodulatory or autonomic pathways. The weak point is mechanism. The supplied theory does not specify which circuits, inflammatory mediators, gut motility pathways, sleep measures, or biomarkers should move, so the biological claim stays broad.
Supporting evidence: The intervention is being evaluated in a defined post-surgical context: cytoreductive surgery and hyperthermic intraperitoneal chemotherapy.; The target symptoms are concrete: pain, nausea/vomiting, diarrhea, and insomnia.; The theory predicts both patient-reported symptom changes and blood-biomarker changes.
Counter evidence: The supplied material gives no specific mechanism beyond symptom modulation and possible biomarker effects.; The listed supporting publications do not directly support electroacupuncture for this post-surgical symptom burden.
Explanatory power3.0
The theory could explain symptom improvement if treated patients improve after electroacupuncture, but it does not yet beat simpler explanations: recovery over time after surgery, placebo response, extra clinical attention, regression to the mean, medication changes, or selective retention of patients who tolerate the intervention. Biomarker movement would help, but only if the biomarkers are pre-specified and tied to a plausible mechanism. Right now, 'blood biomarkers changed' is too loose to carry much explanatory weight.
Fasting-mimicking diet for prediabetic metabolic risk
The project implies that a short fasting-mimicking diet cycle may improve metabolic health in Asian Americans with prediabetes by inducing measurable fasting-like metabolic changes. The stated endpoints are fasting blood glucose, ketone levels, and physical measurements, so the causal theory is limited to whether the intervention can shift glycemic and ketone markers in a direction consistent with improved prediabetes risk.
Testable predictions are that after one 5-day fasting-mimicking diet cycle, participants should show measurable changes in fasting glucose, ketone levels, and physical measurements compared with baseline, while feasibility data should support whether a larger study is warranted.
manual entry · Sat Jun 27 2026 08:30:48 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time)
Popperian evaluation
Premise plausibility6.0
The premise is biologically credible at the marker level: a 5-day fasting-mimicking diet can plausibly raise ketones and change fasting glucose because it restricts energy intake enough to push fasting-like metabolism. The claim stays modest, which helps. The weak point is the leap from short-term marker shifts to improved prediabetes risk after one cycle, especially in Asian Americans specifically. The provided evidence does not include direct diet, prediabetes, ketone, or feasibility data, so the mechanism is plausible but thinly grounded here.
Supporting evidence: The intervention is defined as one 5-day fasting-mimicking diet cycle in participants with prediabetes.; The stated endpoints, fasting blood glucose, ketone levels, and physical measurements, match the proposed fasting-like metabolic mechanism.; The causal claim is limited to marker movement, rather than claiming diabetes prevention or durable clinical benefit.
Counter evidence: The evidence context says the supporting publications do not directly address fasting-mimicking diets, Asian Americans with prediabetes, fasting glucose, ketone response, or feasibility.; The theory assumes short-term fasting-like changes can shift markers relevant to prediabetes risk, but no direct supporting publication is provided.; One cycle may show acute metabolic response without proving durable risk reduction.
Minimally invasive decompression for functional recovery in lumbar pathology
The causal claim is that biportal spinal endoscopy can improve function in lumbar stenosis or disc herniation by enabling endoscopic discectomy or unilateral laminotomy with bilateral decompression using standard arthroscopic equipment, even in resource-limited hospitals. By relieving the structural pathology with a minimally invasive approach, patients should have less pain and be able to return to activities of daily living with low complication burden.
Testable predictions are reduced back and leg pain scores, return to work or daily activities, and low rates of postoperative deficits, infection, readmission, revision, and wound complications at follow-up.
publication · Sat Jun 27 2026 08:30:48 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) · Source
Popperian evaluation
Premise plausibility7.0
The core premise is biologically and surgically credible: lumbar stenosis and disc herniation can cause pain and impaired function through structural nerve compression, and decompression can relieve that pressure. The biportal endoscopic claim also fits known surgical logic: smaller access corridors should reduce tissue injury if decompression is technically adequate. The weak point is generalization. A five-patient case series can show feasibility in one setting, but it cannot establish that resource-limited hospitals broadly can reproduce the same safety and functional outcomes.
Supporting evidence: The theory identifies a concrete pathology: lumbar stenosis or disc herniation with structural compression.; The proposed intervention has a plausible mechanical action: endoscopic discectomy or unilateral laminotomy with bilateral decompression.; In the Soddo, Ethiopia case series, 80% of patients had VAS-back and VAS-leg scores below 2 out of 10 at 12 months.
Counter evidence: The evidence rests on five patients, which is too small to support broad safety or implementation claims.; The assumption that outcomes generalize across resource-limited hospitals is explicitly low-confidence.
MTA-cooperative PRMT5 inhibition for MTAP-deleted cancers
The therapeutic theory is that MTAP-deleted cancers can be treated by selectively inhibiting the PRMT5-MTA complex with orally bioavailable small molecules. The medicinal chemistry program further proposes that deuterating a methyl group can reduce formation of an N-demethylated hERG-liability metabolite through the kinetic isotope effect, improving safety margin and pharmacokinetics without losing target potency.
Testable predictions are that bis-acyl hydrazide inhibitors should selectively inhibit PRMT5-MTA in MTAP-deleted tumor contexts, that methyl-d3 analogs should produce less hERG-active metabolite in vivo, and that optimized compounds should show improved pharmacokinetic and safety profiles.
publication · Sat Jun 27 2026 08:30:48 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) · Source
Popperian evaluation
Premise plausibility8.0
The premises are credible. MTAP deletion creates MTA accumulation, and the theory ties that tumor context to PRMT5-MTA inhibition with a defined compound class. The deuteration claim is also chemically plausible: if N-demethylation creates the hERG-active M1 metabolite, methyl-d3 substitution can slow that step through the kinetic isotope effect. The main limitation is that the evidence provided is one medicinal chemistry case study, so the premise is strong for this series but not yet proven as a broad oncology rule.
Supporting evidence: The cited 2026 Journal of Medicinal Chemistry paper reports potent, selective, orally bioavailable bis-acyl hydrazide inhibitors targeting the PRMT5-MTA complex in MTAP-deleted cancers.; The same paper identifies M1, an N-demethylated metabolite of compound 12, as a potent hERG inhibitor.; Methyl-d3 analog 16 reduced M1 formation in vivo while preserving the intended PRMT5-MTA medicinal chemistry program.
Counter evidence: The evidence context does not provide clinical tumor response data in MTAP-deleted patients.; The broader claim that this deuteration tactic generalizes across methylated amines remains a proposal, not a settled rule.
The provided evidence does not show any public statement from Jaymi Smith about this theory. The only record is a 2021 workshop video listing Aileen Anderson as a speaker, and there are no quotes, publications, or attributed remarks from Jaymi Smith that endorse, mention, or contradict the scaffold-plus-stem-cell spinal cord repair idea.
Supporting evidence: The theory links electroacupuncture to reduced treatment-related symptom burden.; It also predicts detectable blood-biomarker changes after the intervention.
Counter evidence: No observed electroacupuncture outcome data are supplied.; Feasibility and acceptance do not distinguish a causal treatment effect from willingness to try the intervention.; The evidence package includes unrelated publications on PRMT5 inhibitors, malaria genomics, spinal cord repair, network alignment, and spinal endoscopy.
Falsifiability7.0
This is the strongest Popperian dimension. The theory makes several claims that can fail: patients may reject the intervention, adverse events may appear, symptom scores may not improve, or biomarkers may show no detectable change. The score is capped because the supplied material does not define thresholds, timing, comparator group, symptom instruments, biomarker panel, or minimal clinically meaningful difference. A test can still refute the broad claim, but a sharper protocol would make the refutation cleaner.
Supporting evidence: Predictions include feasibility and patient acceptance.; Predictions include lack of concerning safety signals.; Predictions include improved measures for pain, nausea/vomiting, diarrhea, and insomnia.; Predictions include detectable post-intervention blood-biomarker changes.
Counter evidence: The material does not specify numerical success thresholds.; The material does not name the symptom scales, biomarker targets, follow-up windows, or comparator condition.
Reasoning tree
premise
Electroacupuncture is being evaluated after cytoreductive surgery and hyperthermic intraperitoneal chemotherapy as an intervention for post-surgical symptom burden.
high confidence
premise
implies
The targeted post-surgical symptoms are pain, nausea/vomiting, diarrhea, and insomnia.
high confidence
assumption
assumes
Electroacupuncture can causally modulate symptoms after intensive cancer surgery and chemotherapy exposure.
medium confidence
derivation
implies
If electroacupuncture modulates post-surgical symptoms, then treatment-related symptom burden should decline after the intervention.
medium confidence
prediction
predicts
Patients receiving electroacupuncture will show improved symptom measures for pain, nausea/vomiting, diarrhea, and insomnia.
medium confidence
assumption
assumes
Electroacupuncture may produce detectable changes in blood biomarkers related to the intervention or symptom response.
medium confidence
derivation
implies
If electroacupuncture has measurable biological effects, then blood biomarkers should change after the intervention.
medium confidence
prediction
predicts
Blood biomarker measurements will show detectable post-intervention changes.
medium confidence
prediction
predicts
Patients will find electroacupuncture feasible and acceptable in the post-surgical treatment context.
medium confidence
project_implication
implies
A positive feasibility, safety, symptom, and biomarker signal would support further testing of electroacupuncture as supportive care for post-surgical symptom burden.
medium confidence
prediction
predicts
Electroacupuncture will show no concerning safety signals in patients after cytoreductive surgery and hyperthermic intraperitoneal chemotherapy.
medium confidence
observation
observed_in
The supplied supporting publications do not directly support the electroacupuncture theory for post-surgical symptom burden; they concern unrelated topics such as PRMT5 inhibitors, malaria genomics, spinal cord repair, network alignment, and spinal endoscopy.
The supplied record set links Aileen Anderson to stem cell, CNS, regenerative medicine, and research-administration talks. It does not show her discussing electroacupuncture, post-surgical symptom control after cytoreductive surgery and HIPEC, or the specific claim that electroacupuncture could reduce pain, nausea, diarrhea, insomnia, or alter biomarkers in that setting. On this evidence, she stays silent on the theory.
The supplied evidence only establishes Andrea Gunn Eaton's role at UC Irvine. It does not show any public statement from her about electroacupuncture, post-surgical symptom control, or this project’s theory, so the defensible classification is silence.
The supplied public records about Bernadette Boden-Albala cover public health leadership, flu-season commentary, an MPH program interview, and the SERVE OC cardiovascular-health study. None mention electroacupuncture, post-surgical symptom control after cytoreductive surgery and HIPEC, biomarker effects, or this theory's proposed mechanism. On this record, she is publicly silent on the theory.
Frank LaFerla appears in the supplied evidence only in Alzheimer’s disease research context. The news record is about a UC Irvine grant for humanized mouse models, and the publication studies optical biomarkers in an Alzheimer’s mouse model. Neither item mentions electroacupuncture, post-surgical symptom control after cytoreductive surgery and HIPEC, or biomarker changes from that intervention. On this record, he stays silent on the theory.
No public quotes, records, or publications are provided for Gillian Hayes. With no evidence that she endorsed, mentioned, or contradicted the theory, the only supported label is silence.
silent
The supplied evidence does not show Jaymi Smith discussing electroacupuncture, post-surgical symptom control, or this project's proposed biomarker effects. The only record is a 2021 regeneration workshop video, and its listed speakers and summary do not connect Jaymi Smith to the theory.
Explanatory power3.0
The theory explains the expected direction of fasting glucose and ketone changes if the diet works, but it does not yet explain observed evidence because no relevant outcome data are provided. Baseline-to-post-cycle changes would also have rival explanations: caloric restriction, short-term weight or fluid shifts, regression to the mean, adherence differences, or measurement timing. Without a control group or relevant publications, the theory is more a testable proposal than an explanation of current evidence.
Supporting evidence: The reasoning chain predicts measurable changes in fasting glucose, ketone levels, and physical measurements after the 5-day cycle.; The proposed endpoints are close to the proposed mechanism, so positive ketone movement would at least show fasting-like physiology.
Counter evidence: No observed intervention results are provided for this population.; The supporting publications are unrelated to fasting-mimicking diets and prediabetes.; Baseline-to-post-cycle marker changes alone cannot separate the diet mechanism from caloric restriction, adherence, natural variation, or measurement timing.
Falsifiability8.0
This is the strongest Popperian feature. The theory makes concrete near-term predictions: after one 5-day cycle, fasting glucose, ketone levels, and physical measurements should change compared with baseline. A clean failure would be easy to state: no ketone rise, no favorable fasting glucose shift, or feasibility data too poor to justify a larger study. The main limitation is that the theory does not specify effect sizes, timing, assay thresholds, or a control condition, so a weak positive result could be overread.
Supporting evidence: The prediction names a specific intervention duration: one 5-day fasting-mimicking diet cycle.; The predicted readouts are measurable: fasting blood glucose, ketone levels, and physical measurements.; Feasibility is also named as a decision point for whether a larger study is warranted.
Counter evidence: The theory does not define numerical thresholds for a meaningful glucose or ketone change.; The baseline-to-post design makes falsification less sharp than a randomized controlled comparison.; Physical measurements are named broadly, without specifying which measurements or what degree of change would count.
Reasoning tree
project_implication
A short fasting-mimicking diet cycle may improve metabolic health in Asian Americans with prediabetes by inducing fasting-like metabolic changes.
medium confidence
premise
requires
The intervention is one 5-day fasting-mimicking diet cycle administered to participants with prediabetes.
high confidence
premise
requires
The target population is Asian Americans with prediabetes.
high confidence
assumption
assumes
Short-term fasting-like metabolic changes can shift markers relevant to prediabetes risk.
medium confidence
derivation
implies
If the fasting-mimicking diet induces fasting-like metabolism, it should alter glycemic and ketone markers in measurable directions.
medium confidence
premise
requires
The stated metabolic endpoints are fasting blood glucose and ketone levels.
high confidence
premise
requires
The stated physical endpoints are physical measurements collected before and after the diet cycle.
high confidence
prediction
predicts
After one 5-day fasting-mimicking diet cycle, participants should show measurable changes in fasting blood glucose compared with baseline.
high confidence
prediction
predicts
After one 5-day fasting-mimicking diet cycle, participants should show measurable changes in ketone levels compared with baseline.
high confidence
prediction
predicts
After one 5-day fasting-mimicking diet cycle, participants should show measurable changes in physical measurements compared with baseline.
high confidence
prediction
predicts
Observed changes in fasting glucose and ketone levels should be consistent with reduced prediabetes-related metabolic risk.
medium confidence
prediction
predicts
Feasibility data should indicate whether a larger study of the fasting-mimicking diet intervention is warranted.
high confidence
assumption
assumes
Baseline-to-post-cycle changes are sufficient to test whether the intervention shifts the specified markers, even without broader clinical endpoints.
medium confidence
observation
observed_in
The provided supporting publications do not directly address fasting-mimicking diets, Asian Americans with prediabetes, fasting glucose, ketone response, or feasibility of this intervention.
The provided public records tie Aileen Anderson to stem cell, regeneration, and CNS research talks and media. None mention fasting-mimicking diets, prediabetes, Asian American metabolic risk, fasting glucose, ketones, or related trial endpoints. On this evidence, she stays silent on the theory.
Andrea Gunn Eaton appears in the record only as UC Irvine campus counsel and university leadership. None of the provided public records mention the fasting-mimicking diet project, prediabetes, metabolic endpoints, or any view on the theory. On this evidence, she is publicly silent.
The public records here discuss Bernadette Boden-Albala's roles in public health leadership and a community cardiovascular intervention study, but they do not mention a fasting-mimicking diet, prediabetes in Asian Americans, ketone endpoints, or this project's causal claim. On this evidence, she is publicly silent on the theory.
No provided quote, article, or publication links Frank LaFerla to the fasting-mimicking diet theory in prediabetic Asian Americans. The evidence is about Alzheimer's mouse models and optical markers of neuronal death, which does not address fasting-mimicking diets, ketones, fasting glucose, or prediabetes endpoints.
There is no public evidence here that Gillian Hayes endorsed, discussed, or contradicted the theory. The evidence bundle contains no quotes, records, or publications, so the defensible conclusion is silence based on missing public support in the provided material.
silent
The provided evidence does not show Jaymi Smith commenting on this theory. The only record is a 2021 regeneration workshop video, and its summary/excerpt does not mention Jaymi Smith, fasting-mimicking diets, prediabetes, fasting glucose, ketones, or this company theory.
Explanatory power
5.0
The theory explains the observed improvements, but it does not beat simpler alternatives by much. Pain relief and return to activity after surgery are consistent with successful decompression, yet the case series lacks a comparator arm. Natural recovery, patient selection, surgeon skill, perioperative care, and regression to the mean remain live explanations. The cleanest verdict is that the mechanism fits the observations, while the evidence cannot isolate it.
Supporting evidence: All patients reportedly returned to work or activities of daily living.; No postoperative deficits, infections, readmissions, revisions, wound dehiscence, or other complications were reported at 12 months.; The predicted direction of effect matches the observed pain and function outcomes.
Counter evidence: There is no comparison with open surgery, microscopic surgery, conservative care, or another minimally invasive technique.; Five patients cannot separate treatment effect from selection bias or unusually favorable surgical execution.
Falsifiability8.0
This is a testable clinical claim. It predicts lower back and leg pain scores, return to work or daily activities, and low rates of deficits, infection, readmission, revision, and wound complications. Those endpoints can fail plainly in a prospective cohort or randomized trial. The main missing piece is sharper thresholds: the theory says low complication burden and functional recovery, but it should define acceptable rates and time windows before the study starts.
Supporting evidence: The theory names measurable endpoints: VAS-back, VAS-leg, return to work or daily activities, postoperative deficits, infection, readmission, revision, and wound complications.; The evidence context reports a 12-month follow-up window.; A future trial could disconfirm the claim if pain remains high, return to activity is poor, or complication and revision rates exceed prespecified limits.
Counter evidence: The theory does not define numerical failure thresholds for complication rates, return-to-activity timing, or minimum clinically important pain reduction.; Resource-limited feasibility is harder to falsify unless equipment, training, case volume, and hospital constraints are specified.
Reasoning tree
premise
Biportal spinal endoscopy can improve functional recovery in patients with lumbar stenosis or disc herniation.
medium confidence - 1 linked evidence item
premise
requires
Biportal spinal endoscopy can be performed as endoscopic discectomy or unilateral laminotomy with bilateral decompression for lumbar pathology.
high confidence - 1 linked evidence item
derivation
implies
Endoscopic decompression relieves the structural lumbar pathology while limiting tissue disruption through a minimally invasive approach.
medium confidence - 1 linked evidence item
derivation
implies
Reduced structural compression and limited surgical trauma should reduce back and leg pain after surgery.
medium confidence - 1 linked evidence item
derivation
implies
Lower pain and preserved postoperative neurologic function should enable return to work or activities of daily living.
medium confidence - 1 linked evidence item
prediction
predicts
Patients receiving biportal spinal endoscopy will return to work or activities of daily living after surgery.
high confidence - 1 linked evidence item
observation
observed_in
In the same case series, all patients returned to work or activities of daily living.
medium confidence - 1 linked evidence item
prediction
predicts
Patients receiving biportal spinal endoscopy for lumbar stenosis or disc herniation will show reduced back and leg pain scores at follow-up.
high confidence - 1 linked evidence item
observation
observed_in
In a five-patient case series in Soddo, Ethiopia, VAS-back and VAS-leg scores improved to below 2 out of 10 for 80% of patients at 12 months.
medium confidence - 1 linked evidence item
prediction
predicts
Biportal spinal endoscopy will have low rates of postoperative deficits, infection, readmission, revision, and wound complications at follow-up.
high confidence - 1 linked evidence item
observation
observed_in
In the same case series, no complications, postoperative functional deficits, infections, readmissions, revisions, or wound dehiscences were reported at 12 months.
medium confidence - 1 linked evidence item
assumption
assumes
Lumbar stenosis and disc herniation symptoms are substantially driven by structural compression that can be relieved surgically.
medium confidence
assumption
assumes
Resource-limited hospitals with standard orthopedic arthroscopic equipment can implement biportal spinal endoscopy without microscopy.
medium confidence - 1 linked evidence item
project_implication
implies
Biportal spinal endoscopy is a feasible minimally invasive decompression option for lumbar pathology in rural or resource-limited hospitals with arthroscopic equipment.
medium confidence - 1 linked evidence item
assumption
assumes
The favorable outcomes from a five-patient case series are generalizable enough to support broader feasibility and safety claims.
The public records here place Aileen Anderson in stem cell, spinal cord injury, CNS therapeutics, and regenerative medicine contexts. None of the listed items mention biportal spinal endoscopy, lumbar stenosis, disc herniation, unilateral laminotomy with bilateral decompression, or minimally invasive lumbar decompression. On this evidence, she stays silent on the theory.
The supplied records identify Andrea Gunn Eaton as a UC Irvine legal executive and campus counsel. None of them mention biportal spinal endoscopy, lumbar stenosis, disc herniation, minimally invasive decompression, functional recovery, or any related clinical claim. On this evidence, she is publicly silent on the theory.
The provided public records tie Bernadette Boden-Albala to community public health, Alzheimer's care, flu trends, MPH program leadership, and cardiovascular prevention. None mention lumbar stenosis, disc herniation, biportal spinal endoscopy, endoscopic decompression, or related spinal surgery claims. On this record, she stays silent on the theory.
The provided public evidence does not connect Frank LaFerla to biportal spinal endoscopy, lumbar stenosis, disc herniation, decompression surgery, or functional recovery in lumbar pathology. The news record and publication are about Alzheimer's disease models and optical biomarkers in mice, which is a different field entirely. On this record, he stays silent on the theory.
No public quotes, records, or publications are provided for Gillian Hayes that mention, support, or dispute this theory. With no evidence in the dossier, the defensible classification is silence.
silent
The provided public evidence does not show Jaymi Smith discussing biportal spinal endoscopy, lumbar stenosis or disc herniation decompression, functional recovery, or the company's stated theory. The only record is a broad regeneration workshop video from 2021, and nothing in the supplied material ties her to this claim.
Explanatory power
7.0
The theory explains the observed medicinal chemistry data well: target context, metabolite liability, hERG risk, and the safety-margin fix all fit one causal chain. It explains why compound 12 had a safety problem and why analog 16 improved the profile. The weaker part is tumor biology. The evidence says the compounds hit PRMT5-MTA and are aimed at MTAP-deleted cancers, but it does not show that this mechanism explains actual tumor control better than other PRMT5 strategies or unrelated cytotoxic effects.
Supporting evidence: M1 formation from compound 12 gives a direct explanation for the hERG liability.; The methyl-d3 analog reduced M1 formation in vivo, matching the predicted kinetic isotope effect.; The theory links MTAP deletion, PRMT5-MTA dependence, oral exposure, metabolite reduction, and safety margin in a coherent sequence.
Counter evidence: No comparative evidence is provided against alternative PRMT5 inhibitor designs.; No patient response data or resistant-tumor data are provided, so the antitumor explanation remains preclinical or program-level.
Falsifiability9.0
This is highly testable. The theory makes concrete predictions about biochemical selectivity, MTAP-deleted tumor context, metabolite formation, hERG activity, pharmacokinetics, and safety margin. Several could fail cleanly: a methyl-d3 analog could make the same amount of M1, lose PRMT5-MTA potency, fail oral exposure, or still carry a hERG safety problem. That is real Popperian exposure.
Supporting evidence: The theory predicts selective PRMT5-MTA inhibition in MTAP-deleted tumor contexts.; It predicts less hERG-active N-demethylated metabolite in vivo for methyl-d3 analogs than for non-deuterated analogs.; It predicts improved pharmacokinetic and safety profiles while retaining target potency.
Counter evidence: The evidence context does not specify exact numeric thresholds for selectivity, M1 reduction, exposure, or hERG safety margin.; Without predefined pass-fail criteria, some borderline results could be interpreted too flexibly.
Reasoning tree
premise
MTAP-deleted cancers create a tumor context in which the PRMT5-MTA complex is a therapeutically targetable vulnerability.
high confidence - 1 linked evidence item
premise
implies
Bis-acyl hydrazide small molecules can be potent, selective, and orally bioavailable inhibitors of the PRMT5-MTA complex.
high confidence - 1 linked evidence item
derivation
implies
Selective inhibition of the PRMT5-MTA complex should preferentially affect MTAP-deleted tumor contexts while sparing contexts that do not depend on this complex interaction.
medium confidence - 1 linked evidence item
prediction
predicts
Bis-acyl hydrazide inhibitors should selectively inhibit PRMT5-MTA in MTAP-deleted tumor contexts.
high confidence - 1 linked evidence item
observation
observed_in
A lead bis-acyl hydrazide inhibitor produced a major N-demethylated metabolite, M1, that was a potent hERG inhibitor.
high confidence - 1 linked evidence item
premise
implies
Formation of the hERG-liability metabolite M1 reduces the safety margin of the lead inhibitor series.
high confidence - 1 linked evidence item
assumption
assumes
N-demethylation of the methylated amine is a rate-relevant metabolic step that can be slowed by deuterium substitution through the kinetic isotope effect.
high confidence - 1 linked evidence item
derivation
implies
Replacing the methyl group with a methyl-d3 group should reduce in vivo formation of the N-demethylated hERG-active metabolite without eliminating PRMT5-MTA potency.
high confidence - 1 linked evidence item
prediction
predicts
Methyl-d3 analogs should produce less hERG-active N-demethylated metabolite in vivo than non-deuterated analogs.
high confidence - 1 linked evidence item
observation
observed_in
The methyl-d3 analog 16 reduced formation of metabolite M1 in vivo.
high confidence - 1 linked evidence item
derivation
implies
Reducing formation of the hERG-active metabolite should improve the compound safety margin and pharmacokinetic profile.
high confidence - 1 linked evidence item
prediction
predicts
Optimized PRMT5-MTA inhibitors using this deuteration strategy should show improved pharmacokinetic and safety profiles while retaining target potency.
high confidence - 1 linked evidence item
project_implication
implies
A medicinal chemistry program for MTAP-deleted cancers should prioritize orally bioavailable bis-acyl hydrazide PRMT5-MTA inhibitors and use methyl deuteration to mitigate hERG-liability metabolites when N-demethylation is observed.
The record set shows Aileen Anderson speaking about stem cells, spinal cord injury, regenerative medicine, and research administration. Nothing here mentions MTAP deletion, PRMT5, MTA-cooperative inhibition, or deuterated small-molecule chemistry. On this evidence, she is publicly silent on the theory.
The evidence does not show Andrea Gunn Eaton discussing MTAP deletion, PRMT5 inhibition, MTA-cooperative binding, or the deuterated small-molecule safety hypothesis. The records identify her as a University of California, Irvine legal executive, with no public statement here about the company's cancer theory.
The public records here are about Bernadette Boden-Albala's work in public health, Alzheimer's care, flu trends, MPH education, and cardiovascular health interventions. None mention MTAP deletion, PRMT5, MTA-cooperative inhibition, deuterated analogs, or the company's oncology theory. On this evidence, she stays silent on the theory.
The provided public evidence does not connect Frank LaFerla to MTAP-deleted cancers, PRMT5-MTA inhibition, or the deuterated medicinal chemistry claim. The cited news item and publication are about Alzheimer’s disease models and neuronal death imaging, which is a different research area entirely.
There is no public evidence in the provided record set. No quotes, records, or publications link Gillian Hayes to this PRMT5/MTAP theory, so the defensible call is silence rather than endorsement, mention, or contradiction.
silent
The provided evidence does not show Jaymi Smith discussing PRMT5, MTAP-deleted cancers, MTA-cooperative inhibition, or the deuteration and hERG-metabolite claim. The only record is a 2021 regenerative medicine workshop listing speakers and session topics, with no visible link to this oncology theory.